Sale Deed Registration In Delhi

Step by Step Process of registering a property in Delhi

Draft Deed for registration > Calculate & Pay Stamp Duty > Get NOC from Record Keeper(s) > Book appointment with sub-registrar > Visit sub-registrar office with Deed, Property Map, NOC, ID proofs, Residence proofs of all the parties to the deed along with 2 witnesses

  1. Create a transfer deed (sale deed, gift deed, relinquishment deed etc)
  2. Find out who are the record keepers of the property. There can be multiple record keepers of a property. (Municipal corporation, Delhi development authority, Private Developer like DLF, Residents welfare society etc)
  3. Find out the name of property owner(s) online or offline as available.
  4. Now the owner(s) of the property can transfer it, or someone with power of attorney can transfer it, or someone with legal heir certificate/succession certificate can transfer the property to their name(s); by executing an appropriate deed, as the case might be.
  5. NOC from record keeper, MC is required to make sure all dues of the property have been paid in full. For buyer’s safety, it is advisable to check court cases if any, or bank loans if any on the property with title search and encumberance certificate
  6. Book an appointment with sub-registrar or tehsildar as applicable. It can be online or offline as per the area.
  7. To register the deed, visit the sub-registrar office, along with all relevant supporting documents, and id proofs of all parties involved along with 2 witnesses.
  8. Once, the deed is registered and you have received a registered copy, usually in 2-3 days you will get it; Visit record keepers office with the previous registry and the newly executed and registered deed to get the records updated. Get the records updated with MC and other relevant places wherever applicable.

Departments concerned with Property Registration

In Delhi, property registration and related matters are primarily managed by the following government bodies or departments. All these departments come under the umbrella of Government of the National Capital Territory of Delhi (GNCTD)

  1. Inspector-General of Registration and Stamps (IGRS) Delhi
    • Responsible for overseeing stamp duty and property registration services in Delhi.
    • Facilitates property registration through the Delhi Online Registration Information System (DORIS) web portal.
  2. Department of Revenue – Delhi
    • Handles the registration of documents under the provisions of the Registration Act, 1908.
    • Manages the calculation and collection of stamp duty and transfer duties during property transactions.
    • Ensures compliance with all provisions related to property documentation by sub-registrars.
  3. Stock Holding Corporation of India Limited (SHCIL)
    • Appointed by the Government of Delhi for e-stamping, which is essential for property registration.
    • E-stamping is part of the property registration process and is eligible for tax exemption under certain conditions.
  4. Municipalities: Thre are three municipalities in Delhi which Includes one Municipal Corporation of Delhi with 12 zones, one New Delhi Municipal Council, and one Delhi Cantonment Board.
  5. Revenue Tehsil
    • Headed by District Magistrates (DMs), also known as Deputy Commissioners (DCs), which are further divided into 33 sub-divisions each headed by Sub-Divisional Magistrates (SDMs).
    • Delhi has several Sub-Registrar offices that handle property registration under the 11 revenue districts.
    • Here is a list of the Sub-Registrar offices from the Department of Revenue website
tehsils in delhi

For property-related matters, the jurisdiction would typically involve the revenue districts and the municipalities, as they are directly involved in land and property management, including registration, development, and municipal services. All these departments work together to ensure that property registration and all associated legal and financial processes are handled efficiently and in accordance with the law.

Other departments concerned with Property Matters

In addition to the departments responsible for property registration in Delhi, there are other government bodies that handle property-related matters:

  1. Department of Land and Building, Delhi: This department is in charge of the large-scale acquisition of land for the planned development of the state and manages the allotment of this land to the Delhi Development Authority (DDA) for further development and disposal.
  2. Delhi Development Authority (DDA): The DDA is tasked with promoting and securing the development of Delhi. It deals with the allotment, alteration, and transfer of housing, land, and buildings. It also manages various projects and schemes related to commercial properties, urban heritage, and sports complexes.
  3. Delhi Cantonment Board: Governs the areas under the cantonment, dealing with land management and various other civic facilities within its jurisdiction.
  4. New Delhi Municipal Council (NDMC): Manages the area known as Lutyens’ Delhi, where most of the central government offices are located.
  5. Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD): Responsible for civic administration and infrastructure in the larger part of Delhi.

These bodies function in their respective domains but often coordinate with the DDA on overlapping issues related to urban planning and property matters.